ROAD TRIP… Authors After Dark 2014: Charlotte, NC

AAD _Square

I’m packing my car as we speak and heading out tomorrow morning on a road trip to NC.

AUTHORS AFTER DARK 2014

It’s hard to believe, but I attended the first ever AAD, hosted by the wonderful Jacquelyn Frank. Loved, loved, loved her Nightwalker Series and was fan girl over meeting her. It was a small group of 80 at the time.  My how things have grown. I started writing my Key to the Cursed series that year.  It was only two years later I became a featured author at AAD Philly with my debut novel, Soul Reborn.

I wanted to make a great first impression, as a featured author at the Mythos Ball.  I bought 300 cute little pink purses, each with its own key inside. There was only one special silver key. The lucky recipient would win a Kindle, plus my debut release and some other goodies.

It went off without a hitch. Until no one claimed the prize.

The silver key was never found. Someone is probably still wondering what the key is for, but never stayed at the ball long enough to find out.

I never laughed so hard in my life.  Maybe I was trying too hard.  Who knows!

Lesson learned — always have a plan B.

Needless to say, I had a second chance to give my prize away when I arrived home.

Can’t wait to see what this year brings!

Hope to see you there.  I’ll be the one wearing the gold snake bracelets. 

Authors and readers ~ Do you have a funny conference story to share?  A plan that backfired, a costume malfunction, mistaken identity or a not so graceful trip to the podium? 

Leave a comment

Filed under Events

Leave a Reply

