Author Open MIC: Welcomes Toni De Palma

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome to AUTHOR OPEN MIC!

TheDevilsTemptationBT

There are many benefits of being published by a small press publisher.  One of the things I am most grateful for is meeting so many talented and supportive authors.  I am always amazed at the camaraderie and friendship that has blossomed from our small authors’ loop.  It is always a joy when I get to highlight my fellow CMP authors and today is one of those days.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Toni De Palma


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me  | Amazon

I was born in Brooklyn, New York where I spent my summers dancing in the spray of the johnny pump (fire hydrant) and playing freeze tag and a game called skully or skelly (depending on the block you lived). 

From a very early age I was an observer, an essential skill I believe for writers. On a warm summer night, I loved looking out from my bedroom window. We lived in an apartment, above a candy store and along a busy avenue. I loved watching the people walk by and I often made up stories in my mind of where they were heading off to. There was a payphone on the corner and I loved to eavesdrop on people’s conversations.
In sharp contrast to life in Brooklyn, some of my summers were spent on the Italian island of Ischia. Ischia is the island where my Dad grew up. There I swam, fished, and ate lots of pizza. When I got older I also learned to ride a motorcycle and I fell in love with the Italian language. This helped me appreciate my own language.I’ll make a confession. While I always loved stories and writing, I didn’t think I was smart enough or creative enough to be a writer. So instead of pursuing my dream, I decided to do something else I loved. I studied psychology and then went on to get a Masters in Social Work. This allowed me to become a school social worker, which enabled me to counsel kids and get them the education they needed. I loved my job for a long time, but my old dream of being a writer nagged at me.

She welcomes visitors to her website http://www.tonidepalma.com/

typewriter News Headlines

INTERVIEW

The Devil’s Temptation is the second book in your series.  Tell us a little about the first book, The Devil’s Triangle and how the story and characters transition to the second, The Devil’s Temptation. 

In my first book, Cooper is actually dead, but he gets another chance at life when Lucinda, Lucifer’s sister, makes a deal with him. He can earn his place in Heaven if he goes back to earth and finds Grace. Little does Cooper know that he and Grace share a past. That past involves a battle with Lucifer himself.

*(Spoiler Alert)

By the end of The Devil’s Temptation, Cooper and Grace are a couple again. When I wrote the end on the Devil’s Triangle I knew that Lucifer wouldn’t give up so easily on these two. Also, I started wondering about relationships and how it takes work to keep them from going stale. While finding their way back to each other was the theme of the first book, in The Devil’s Temptation, I explore how hard it is to keep the love light burning.

Tell us about your main characters.  What are their strengths and weaknesses?  What challenges will they face?  Any hang ups the readers would be interested in?

Cooper is my brilliant hero. I absolutely LOVE him, but I’ll be the first one to say that his biggest weakness is himself. He lacks confidence in himself and so therefore doesn’t trust that he is good enough for Grace. When he first meets Stefania, the sexy Italian baroness, he does what any other red blooded boy would do, he falls in lust. But the collision course Cooper puts himself on by flirting with Stefania is really just a test of whether Cooper deserves true love, the kind of love he has with Grace.

While I love Grace, I think she has even more hang ups then Cooper does. Grace has spent the six years in battle with the Devil and trying to hide her pain. For Cooper, she’s sacrificed a lot and there might be a little bit of her that secretly resents what she had to give up in order to save Cooper. Don’t get me wrong, she loves Cooper, but when she goes to Italy and a handsome Italian First Officer starts showing interest in her, it’s hard for her to resist.

Lucifer plays a big role?  What is he after and where will he strike next?

In The Devil’s Temptation, Lucifer is not happy that he was duped out of what he felt was rightfully his. Now he’s seeking revenge.

How do you fight a demon? Special powers, spells…. 

Cooper is just a regular guy. No special powers, just his heart.

This book happens on a yacht.  A dream come true for anyone, except those prone to seasickness.  Are you a seagoing gal or land lover?

I get sea sick and air sick and so does my husband. However, we both love the water and like to look at boats.

What do you are you cooking up next?  Will we see more of Cooper and Grace?  What can readers expect?

I write “around” and so I just finished a contemporary middle grade. I love Cooper and Grace though and am always wondering what they are up to.

Where can readers find you and your books? (links, purchase and social media)

 Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me  | Amazon

OPEN MIC FAV 5

  • Favorite hero or heroineEleanor from “Eleanor and Park”
  • Favorite authorJohn Steinbec
  • Favorite music to write byIndie
  • Favorite inspirationLife
  • Most memorable momentSo many, too many to list, though I loved bringing my son to Ischia two summers ago. This is the Italian island where The Devil’s Temptation is partially set.
  • Relationship advicePeople change, but before you give up on a person, really assess what you’d be giving up.

 BOOK REVEAL

Devil's Temptation _FrontCover

BLURB

Fighting the Devil brought Cooper and Grace together. But without a little evil to spice things up, the everyday life of a normal teenager is pretty dull. A summer job crewing on a billionaire’s yacht in sunny Italy might be just the ticket to rekindle passion. While the setting is perfect, the winding, sinister back streets of Naples are also the perfect playground for a scorned Lucifer to wreak havoc. And if evil doesn’t rip them apart, the sultry billionaire’s daughter and the sexy First Officer might be what it takes to finally destroy Cooper and Grace’s love forever.

Buy today on AMAZON

typewriter true love

~~*~~

To find out more about Toni and her work, please pay her a visit at any one of the following online hot spots:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me  | Amazon

TheDevilsTemptationBT

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Open Mic, Events, Guest Author

Leave a Reply

