Author Open MIC: Welcome Hildie McQueen ~ $10 Starbucks Gift Card and E-copy of Deperate Choices

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am handing over the MIC today to a special guest, Author Hildie McQueen.  She is the author of the The Protector series.  If you like BDB or MB you’ll certainly like her Protectors.  So let’s get to know Hildie…

Hildie loves the strange and unusual, pair that with humor and you’ve got an idea of what her writing is like.

She makes sure action, intrigue, and sizzling romance add up to an escape that her readers won’t soon forget.  Hildie is a member of Georgia Romance Writers  and Romance Writers of America. She resides in the beautiful small town Georgia with her super-hero husband Kurt.

She lives in a small town in Georgia, where everybody knows everybody. It’s the kind of place where you get a “Hey Hildie” from across the street while walking into a favorite shop.  The girl behind the counter asks about my books and the next customer in ends up introducing themselves if you haven’t met them yet. I love it!  After growing up in the huge city of San Diego and living all over the world as a soldier and later government contractor, it’s nice to live in a place like this.

Without further delay….

A day in the life of the Immortal Protectors

While writing the Protector series, I’ve given much thought to immortality. Honestly it’s a stretch to consider how a person responds to everyday occurrences when their lifetime stretches ahead without end.

I would imagine many things become tedious, losing friends to death, having to relocate so the lack of aging isn’t noticeable. Finances, I mean it’s hard enough to save for retirement, imagine never retiring and working for hundreds of years! Eating would probably become annoying. I mean how many hamburgers can one eat? What about love and sex?  Would that become a bore after a while as well?  I like to think not.

What do you think? Which things would you tire of if you were immortal?

Leave a comment and win a free copy of the first in the series, Desperate Choices along with a $10 Starbucks gift card, since the Protector’s drink of choice is coffee!

Coffee and a free book?  That’s really hard to pass up!

Before I let Hildie go, she has agreed to stay on for a few questions about her men.  I just finished Desperate Betrayal this week and I loved it.  To bad I’m stuck home in the hurricane, looks like I’ll just have to read the other two by flashlight 🙂

Q: I love that you created this secret society of sorts.  Tell us a little about your Protectors.

A: Mysteriously pre-chosen, in their early twenties, these guys go through a change and become taller, more muscular and all their senses sharpen. They are then recruited by ex-Gladiator, Julian, and join the Protectors, a secret army that fights demons and other threats to weaker species, mostly humans.

Q: Series that surround a group of males (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Midnight Breed—come to mind) seem to be more popular than ever.  Why do you think so?  How do your Protectors measure up? (Trick question because I’m already in love with them).

A: First of all thank you for the comparison. I love both the BDB and MB. I believe the best comparison is that all of them band together for the greater good. The Protectors compare to the MB in that they come from varying backgrounds. My Protectors come from different backgrounds and eras, from a Gladiator, to a Spartan, from Highlanders to a 1800s cowboy!

Q: Desperate Betrayal is the first book in the series.  What comes next?  Whose story do we get to look forward to?

A: The Sequel Desperate Surrender, Kieran’s story, release in July, there is also a prequel novella Desperate Choices, Roderick’s book that released in May.  The third full length in the series, Desperate Possession, Lord Fallon Trent’s book, is still in draft stage. Hopefully it will come out early 2013.

Thank you for having me over today, it’s so much fun!

Don’t forget to leave a comment!

Giveaway ends Sunday, November 4th at 11:59pm/2359 EST.

What do you think? Which things would you tire of if you were immortal?

24 Comments

Filed under Author Open Mic, Events, Giveaway, Guest Author, Heroes

24 responses to “Author Open MIC: Welcome Hildie McQueen ~ $10 Starbucks Gift Card and E-copy of Deperate Choices

  1. I would tire of everything periodically if I lived forever. Even in my short life, to an immortal, I’ve had bouts when I’ve tired of reading (gasp!) and chocolate (double gasp!) and just about everything else. Sometimes you need a break.

    acm05atjuno.com

    • Hildie McQueen

      You’re right Anne, sometimes we do have to take breaks from some things! Even the yummy can get boring if overdone.

  2. yganoe

    Awesome interview! You are speaking my language as my two favorite things in the world are coffee and books (or in this case my Kindle).
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  3. Hey, everyone.

    Just finished reading Desperate Choices – Oh so good! Nice fast read, but packed full of romance. It takes a pretty talented author to accomplish so much in a novella. A worthy read.

    Also, read Desperate Betrayal– both 5 stars in my opinion 🙂

    Need the next book please….

    Host Jean

  4. Entry from Goodreads:

    Hi Hildie,
    thank you for the chance at such a great giveaway. i love the cover, it’s beautiful and the book sounds wonderful.

    i think that if i was immortal i would end up becoming a hermit, it think that society would wear on you if you had to deal with it for eternity. Kinda like that movie Hancock with Will Smith,he had no use for the stupidity of it. LOL!
    i think if i had just the few people that i loved with me i would be perfectly content.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    • Hildie McQueen

      Interesting, I didn’t think of that, but probably true for a lot of ppl Kieran, the hero of Desperate Surrender is a bit of a hermit. Now I know why!

  5. Una

    Wonderful interview, Great writer and great story. I would definitley get tired of fashion. Something you wore 100 years ago is in fashion AGAIN and everyone is acting like it’s all new, (but of course it is to them ; ).

    Love you Hildie, keep doing your thing mujer.

    Una

  6. sherry1969

    Wonderful interview!!! There’s been plenty of times I thought it would be great to be immortal I think it’s one reason I enjoy paranormal books so well.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  7. Hi Hildie,
    Thanks so much for the great giveaway. I am heading over to Amazon to check out your Protector series as soon as I am done with this post!

    I think I would tire of losing the ones I love if I were immortal. It is hard enough as an adult to lose our parents and other relatives, but to have to outlive every friend you have ever had, your children, your pets, the pain would be almost unbearable I would imagine. Although, chocolate, coffee, and sex would never get old.

    Best wishes,
    Marlena

  8. We used to live in a small Georgia town that was right over the boarder of Tallahassee Florida. NICEST people I’ve ever met and we miss that little town. Your books sound like great reads! Do you have more than the 3 books planned for this series?

    • Hildie McQueen

      You know what, I think so, the series will probably to to five or six. I am writing the third full length now and plan to do one for the cowboy, the incubus and the Protector Leader Julian as well! Thanks for asking.

  9. Ooh, the Protectors sound super-sexy! 😀 Can’t wait to read this! And if I were immortal, I think I’d tire of seeing the same things everyday. I’m a homebody, so I wouldn’t be too motivated to leave the house and do something daring…I think. However, I bet your whole perspective changes when you’re alive for, uh, EVER. 😉

    • Hildie McQueen

      I bet you’d finally leave your house more Adrianna, especially after 100 years, you’d have to buy a new one! 🙂

  10. louckslindsey

    Waking up early for work every day forever would get old fast. If I could be immortal and not have to work, I would be a happy camper!

  11. Hi, Hildie! It was great seeing you at Moonlight and Magnolias this year. I LOVE your Protectors series, and can’t wait to read more!

    Let’s see… if I was immortal I would get tired of housework. I mean… an eternity of laundry and scrubbing the shower? And dusting. Dusting! YUCK! My husband, by the way, says he would get tired of life insurance premiums!

    Enjoyed the interview!
    Paula Huffman

  12. Mary Roya

    If I was immortal, I could learn and study. Paint, write and do all the things I won’t get to do in this life time. So many books to read, so many people to meet, so many things to do. We are all here for season. I’ll make the most of what time I have. Great interview. Keep writing so I can keep reading.

  13. Congratulations to Marlena, winner of Hildie’s great book, Desperate Choices and $10 Starbuck’s gift card.

    Thank you everyone for participating and giving Hildie McQueen a warm Wicked Romance welcome.

    Look out for more giveaways and Author Open MIC events in the future.

    Your Host,

    Jean Murray

  14. Kathy Sloan

    Living forever? – well forever, maybe not, but wouldn’t mind for some long length of time – you see change. Imagine living in WWI era, or before cars/airplanes or computers, or something in the future. Would you live it to just go through life as a bystander; would you look back to see change and be amazed, or would help affect change? I have a tendency, if I have alot of time, to be more sedate (put off the things I should do), but when crammed for time, there’s so much to get done and amazingly I do (well, most of the time). But this is fantasy… anything’s a go! Look forward to reading the book.

Leave a Reply

