Author Open MIC ~ Welcomes Hildie McQueen +Giveaway

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, we have a very special author who at the end of this has a special treat:

ONE FREE COPY OF DESPERATE BETRAYAL. 

I’d like to introduce Hildie McQueen. 

Hildie loves the strange and unusual, pair that with humor and you’ve got an idea of what her writing is like.  Besides writing, her other occupation is as an administrative assistant in support of the Department of Defense.  She enjoys making sure action, intrigue, and sizzling romance add up to an escape that her readers won’t soon forget.  Hildie is a member of Georgia Romance Writers, Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal Chapter and Romance Writers of America.

She resides in the beautiful small town Georgia with her super-hero husband Kurt.

********************

Hello everyone, so glad to be here today to introduce my book series. Thank you for stopping by.

One commenter will receive a free e-copy of Desperate Betrayal, the first in the series!

The Protector Series began with the idea to create a hero, who is different, who is immortal and has some vampire-like characteristics.

I had to come up with the guys that while they are born human, are born predestined to become immortal warriors. At the age of about twenty they grow taller and get bulkier. At the same time their eyesight and hearing become keener. Like vampires, they drop fangs when aggravated and have the ability to erase memories. Once they accept their destiny and go with Julian, their leader, they train in Rome with Gladiators to fight.   

I decided to bring the Protector from varied backgrounds, there is one Viking, a Moor, two Highlanders, a British Lord, a Spartan and their leader is a Gladiator. And of course each of them is drop dead gorgeous.

Lastly, they needed a purpose.  The Protectors spend their nights patrolling the streets of Atlanta, protecting innocents from demons and others out to harm them.

Now to the books!

 Desperate Choices, Novella, the prequel to Desperate Betrayal

When an Immortal demon slayer saves Rachel Andrews from certain death, her life changes forever.  An unbreakable bond with the handsome Protector, drags her into a world she never believed existed and has no desire to be part of.

The actions of one night drastically alter the course of his long existence.  Torn between his feelings for Rachel and his life’s calling, Roderick Cronan comes face to face with the fact that he is losing both.

Desperate Betrayal

When a beautiful woman in a dirty alley approaches Cyn Fraser, he is intrigued by the fact that she can see him for what he is, a demon slayer, and still dares to approach him.

Emma Blake, has to convince Cyn to help rescue her sister from powerful demons, she goes against every instinct and approaches him despite knowing that she is leading them both into territory so wrought with treachery, neither of them may survive. Will they overcome betrayal? And if they do, will it even matter?

Desperate Surrender

Wendy O’Sullivan’s life drastically changes upon discovering she is not human, and is charged with guarding the Key of Peace. To make matters more complicated, she reunites with the Protector she’s dreamed of since the day he rescued her from a demon attack.

Kieran Frasier, hasn’t kissed, much less loved a woman in over three hundred years, his heart firmly encased behind thick walls. The fierce immortal defends innocents from powerful demons, but can he defend himself from diminutive Wendy, who manages to get past all his barricades?

Faced with arranged marriages to others and battling demons that will stop at nothing to capture Wendy, will they be forced to surrender their chance at true love for the greater good?

*********************

 INTERVIEW:

Hi Hildie.  Welcome to part II of the Author Open MIC where I get to throw some questions at you, especially now that you bated us with your oh-so-fabulous and sexy immortal warriors. 

1.     I read in a previous interview that Desperate Betrayal read very much like JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series (which I must say is my favorite).  Do you find inspiration in other authors who have paved the way for more male centric romance novels? 

I am always flattered when people compare my writing to her because she’s my uber-hero! I get inspired when I read great writing, when I laugh out loud or cry because of a specific scene.  Besides JR Ward, I love Gena Showalter, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Pamela Palmer, all of their series based on not only strong males, but also the relationship between the men.

2.     What do you think is the hardest obstacle in writing from a male perspective?  What is the easiest?

I’ve been surrounded by men my entire life, I was in the army for a while, then continue to work with the government, so I feel that I have a good perspective on the male point of view.  Whenever I don’t understand something or need to ask a question, I ask the guys.

3.     I love that your immortal warriors come from different time periods and cultures.  How do you decide what female character will make the best match?

That is a great question, what I usually do is contemplate and try to figure out the type of female that would either be my heroes exact opposite or a mirror image of him, only feminine. Sometimes it’s easy other times, its not so much so.

4.     Okay, you have some serious bragging rights as of late for Desperate Betrayal.  What do readers think?

I have received emails from people I don’t know to tell me how much they’ve enjoyed it and to ask about the sequel.  It’s been amazing that my debut novel has been so warmly received.  I just hope that I can keep them happy with the sequels.

Host interjects:  Now Hildie, you are being modest.  Okay, I’ll brag for you.  Desperate Betrayal was selected as READERS CHOICE at Gravetells in January 2012.  She was up against some stiff competition.  The READERS HAVE SPOKEN – they love her book.  Not to mention all the great reviews on AMAZON and GOODREADS.

5.     Where can readers find out more about you and your books? 

I blog regularly at www.hildiemcqueen.com.  There is also a tab on there for books, which I update regularly.

My Facebook addiction is another way to know what I’m up to, http://www.facebook.com/HildieMcQueen

*********************

GIVEAWAY!!

You must leave a comment for Hildie to be included in the drawing, otherwise we won’t know where to find you 🙂 

17 Comments

Filed under Author Open Mic, Events, Giveaway, Guest Author

17 responses to “Author Open MIC ~ Welcomes Hildie McQueen +Giveaway

  1. Excited to be here today! I’ll pop in every once in a while.

  2. What a GREAT post! I loved this book and really cannot wait to read more about the protectors!! *sigh*

  3. Lydia

    I love the character development in Desperate Betrayal and I am SUPER excited to see how Rachel and Roderick and Wendy and Kieran develop in their own context! I must say that Kieran and Cyn intrigue me, trying to stay so mysterious and unattached, when all of a sudden they are falling hatd for two special women. Waiting anxiously for the next installment and finding out about Rachel and Roderick 🙂

  4. Great interview, Hildie and Jean! Can’t wait to read the prequel, too!

  5. Desperate Betrayal was uber good!! Cyn was a great match for Emma, and Blue made Cyn more… human, it showed us a different side of him. I highly recommend to those who haven’t read it do so, it’s yummy! And I read tons of books, so I think I’m an untrained expert, LOL! Keep those Protector stories coming Hildie!!

    Dottie 🙂

  6. Love BDB… definitely reading this one! Congrats on the success of your debut novel, Hildie!

    yadkny@hotmail.com

  7. Hildie, It was such an honor to read about you. I am so proud of how successful your book is, already having a few awards under your belt is exciting!
    Elizabeth Cheryl

  8. Mary Roya

    What an interesting story. I can see all kinds of terrible and fun coming out of your story.

  9. Love this list! A Viking, a Moor, two Highlanders, a British Lord, a Spartan and their leader is a Gladiator. Reads like a list of my favorite things.

  10. Hi Folks.

    This contest is still open. Deadline is Monday, 19March. Get your comment in before then to be considered!!

    Your Host: Jean

  11. I had a blast here!! Winner to be announced later today!! Woo Hoo!!! Thank you Jean!!

  12. Okay, the time you’ve been waiting for– PRIZE TIME.
    The winner of the e-book copy of Desperate Betrayal is…..

    Yadira, congratulations. Please respond in 48 hours to claim your prize.

    I want to thank Hildie McQueen for taking over the MIC and providing such a fabulous giveaway. I hope to bring more of those to readers in the future. Stay tuned!!

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by to leave a comment and participate in the giveaway. You guys are the BEST!!

    If you are still hungry for a good read and great prizes, I’m hosting The Small Press Treasure Hop. Leave a comment in the post above and enter to win an e-copy of Soul Reborn, plus Wicked Romance tote and Egyptian Tarot Cards. Don’t wait, hop ends on the 24th.

    Happy Reading!!!

    Your host,
    Jean

Leave a Reply

