The Newlywed Game ~ Fantasy Edition: Win a copy of Ruined & Soul Reborn.

The Newlyweds Game Show – Fantasy Edition

Host: Thank you for joining us today for a special treat.  Jean Murray, author of Soul Reborn, is allowing her hero, Asar, and his heroine, Lilly, to challenge hero, Vale, and heroine, Jessa, from Ruined, to a game of The Newlyweds – Fantasy Edition.

 ************************************

 BLURB for SOUL REBORN:

THE HUMAN REALM, HIS BATTLEFIELD.
 Asar, the Egyptian God of the Underworld, has been tortured and left soulless by a malevolent goddess, relegating him to consume the very thing he was commissioned to protect. Human souls.  Now an empty shell of hatred, Asar vows to kill the goddess and anyone involved in her release, but fate crosses his path with a beautiful blonde huntress who has a soul too sweet to ignore.
DEADLY SECRETS BETTER LEFT UNEARTHED.  Lilly, fearless commander of the Nehebkau huntresses, is the only things standing in the way of the goddess’ undead army unleashing hell on earth. But Lilly has a secret–one she is willing to sell her soul to keep. If the Underworld god discovers her role in the dig that released the goddess, she will lose everything, including his heart.

BLURB for RUINED:

Jessa is one healing away from death. Under the thrall of her gift, the Court’s Senior Healer risks giving her life in exchange for her patient’s.  Vale is a rebel ruler. When his brother is killed, he’s given the throne and the decree from the Court to produce an heir or lose his family’s hold on the land–and his deceiving advisors aren’t afraid to use murder as a weapon if their directive to stay away from the Senior Healer goes unheeded. But Vale burns to possess Jessa. The heat between them leaves a wake of smoke, and even the powerful forces above want to bind them in a union that lasts forever. Vale taking another would be a betrayal neither could survive.

Their enemies fear a child born of such a powerful Healer and Warrior, but the true threat lies in the bond forged in shadows and fused in fire.

************************************

Host: Heroes and heroines, please tell us your name and occupation.

From Soul Reborn:

Asar:  My name is Asar.  I am the Egyptian god of the Underworld, Afterlife and the Dead.  I judge human souls at the gates of the afterlife.

Lilly:  Hi, I’m Lilly Carrigan.  I command the Nehebkau huntresses.  I kill revens, cursed human souls, for a living.

From Ruined:

Vale: My name is Valerian Francis. I’m the King of the Realm of Shadows. I work with the Court to keep my people, the Shadow Shifters, and my realm safe.

Jessa: Hi everyone, I’m Jessa. I’m the Senior Healer to the king. My job is to protect the king and offer my healing abilities in dire situations.

Host: Now that our readers know a little bit about you, let’s get started. Today, we are putting our heroes/heroines to the test to see how much they know about their soul mates. Each matching answer is worth 5-points. Heroes, please leave the stage, so we may ask your heroines five questions about you. Good luck.

Host:  Wives, fill in these blanks. My husband may be the world’s best ______, but he may also be the world’s worst ________.

Lilly:  Best lover, definitely!  I need to say it in the sentence don’t I?  Okay.  My husband maybe the world’s best LOVER, but he may also be the world’s worst….  This is really hard. He is good at so many things. He may also be the world’s worst LOSER.  You don’t want to be anywhere near Asar if someone steals from him, trust me.  Having been on the receiving end of his fury, I wouldn’t recommend it.

Jessa: He’s definitely the best king the Shadow Shifter throne has ever seen. He’s wise, patient, smart, and he loves our people. He’s also the world’s best husband, but I don’t think he’d guess that because he still feels badly about the whole suitor fiasco. I’m not sure what he’s worst at now, but for a long time he wasn’t very good at listening to his own heart. I think I would go with: My husband may be the world’s best king, but he may also be the world’s worst courter.

Host:  How many pair of shoes do you own that are not in a closet right now?

Lilly:  I’m actually a neat freak, so all my shoes, except the boots I’m wearing now are all in the closet.  Yes, they are sorted by color and season. Although, there is only one season in the Paradise Isle of the Afterlife.  It’s a lot like San Diego.

Jessa:  I’m a champion of slippers and comfort. I only have a few pairs of silk slippers, but what you don’t see on my feet today are in the dresser.

Host:  Other than your wedding day or the birth of any of your children, what one day of your relationship would you most like to experience again?

Lilly:  Okay, now you are making me blush.  Do we have to pick just one?  I guess it would have to be the first time he said he loved me.  If you knew Asar before he got his soul back, you would understand how special that moment truly was to me.

Jessa:  The day of the brand. I don’t want to say anymore because it’s too intimate to reveal here. You’ll have to read our story for the explicit details. But it’s a day I’ll never forget and would willingly experience again.

Host:  What is the oddest location you’ve ever shared a kiss?

Lilly:  That would be on the battlefield of Thebes, Egypt. I almost lost him that night. Almost. It was the best kiss ever.

Jessa: I’m not sure if it’s odd, but one time he kissed me in the middle of the castle garden where anyone could have seen. It would have been very scandalous to be caught, but he said he didn’t care.

Host:  What’s the silliest thing your spouse has ever done?

Lilly:  If it’s one thing Asar isn’t, it’s silly. Hmm.  I do have one thing that some might think is silly, but I thought was the most romantic thing a god could ever do.  Unfortunately, I can’t tell you as it would give the surprise away at the end.  Read the book.  And if you have, don’t give the spooler away.

Jessa:  This is easy. He assumed he could live without me. I’m not sure if silly is the right word, but when the Ancestor gods decree something, it is rather silly to fight against it.

Host:  Now ladies, your husbands were asked the following questions.  Please provide your answer and we will tell
you what they said.  Let’s start with Lilly.

Host:  Complete this sentence: I knew I had found the love of my life when she _______________.

Lilly: Saved his life?

Answer:  When you tried to hit him.

Lilly: What?  That was only the third time we met and he threatened me and my sisters.  Men. I’ll never understand them.

Jessa: Agreed to marry him?

Answer: When you saved his life.

Jessa:  Oh, well, that’s much sooner than I thought.  How sweet.

Host:  Who was interested in marriage first – you or your wife?

Lilly:   Definitely, Asar.

Answer: Asar.

Jessa: We were both interested in marriage around the same time.

Answer:  Both.

Host:  What one thing does your wife have too much of?

Lilly:  I know what he’ll say.  Stubbornness.

Answer: Stubbornness.

Jessa:  He would say I’m too giving. I suppose I don’t blame him considering how many times I’ve risked my own life to heal others.

Answer: Too giving.

Host:  When your wife was 13 years old, what did she want to be when she grew up?

Lilly:  I wouldn’t be wearing black leather and killing revens for a living that’s for certain.  Boy, I can’t remember.  I was so busy raising my sisters, I’m not sure I even thought of it.  Whatever it would be, I would be outdoors at night, so that I could look at the stars and
dream.

Answer:  Astrologist.

Lilly: That’s pretty close, do we still get points?

Jessa: A Healer.

Answer: A Healer.

Host:  Okay, heroines, let’s take a look at the heroes’ answers to these same questions here, http://authorkinleybaker.blogspot.com/ .

************************************

Thank you for joining us today as we put our newlyweds to the test.  We’d like to open the microphone to the audience to ask our heroes and heroines about their mate.  By participating today, you will be entered to win a copy of Soul Reborn and Ruined.  See rules below.

Rules:

To be eligible for drawing you must:

1.       Post questions for our contestants on both blog sites.  One for the heroes and one for the heroines. Please post a different question for the spouse. (Have fun with this)

2.       Please leave your email in the post. (xxx(at)xyx(dot)com)

3.       Questions (both sites) must be posted by Friday, September 30th, midnight (EST).

4.       Two winners will be chosen for e-books.  1-Ruined; 1-Soul Reborn.

19 Comments

Filed under Craft, Events, Guest Author, PROMO, Soul Reborn

19 responses to “The Newlywed Game ~ Fantasy Edition: Win a copy of Ruined & Soul Reborn.

  1. Renee Rearden

    I LOVE the fantasy Newlywed game! Had a great time reading their answers. These couples have gotten to know each other pretty well. Can’t wait for a tougher round…

  2. I love this game! What a cool idea.
    So, this question is for the women. If you were given the chance to go back in time to a point before you met your man to fix your world (but then you would be changing your destiny and risking never being with your love…) would you do it? Why or why not?
    I hope that makes sense…

    • Lilly: Marne your question gives me great pause. I’ve lost so much because of the war with the goddess. To have my family back is a dream come true. But knowing what I know now about Asar and who I am (my destiny), I would not change a thing, however painful. Why? My sisters and I are humankind’s last defense against the goddess and her undead army.

  3. On the heroes site, Marne asked: If you could change one thing about your spouse, what would it be?

    Host: Jessa, what do you think Vale responded?

    Jessa: That’s easy! He respects my healing, but if he had a choice, I wouldn’t risk my life to save others.

    • Host: Lilly, how do you think Asar responded. If you could change one thing about your spouse, what would it be?

      Lilly: I’m sure he would say it was fate that brought us together. We were made for each other. He wouldn’t change a thing.

  4. Heroines: Say you and your spouse have a disagreement. He’s in the wrong and realizes it. How would like him to make amends?

    Heroes: What does your spouse do that makes you all “gooey” inside?

    annarkie12 (at) Gmail (dot) com.

    • Lilly: This happens more often than you would think. There are many times we do not see eye to eye. How would I like Asar to make amends? Make love and of course groveling doesn’t hurt.

      Host: Asar asked what do you do that makes him all gooey inside?

      Lilly: Nibble on his neck?

      Host: He said your living energy feeds him.

      Lilly: Well there is that. Did he tell you we were made for each other?

  5. @Brooklyn Ann

    Jessa: I would like for Vale to make amends simply by telling me I’m right. The words go a long way.

  6. @Brooklyn Ann

    Host: Jessa, your spouse was asked: What does your spouse do that makes you all “gooey” inside?

    Jessa: Hmm, I’m not familiar with the word “gooey”. Since I don’t know the connotation, I’ll guess one positive and one negative. A positive I make him feel is probably loved. A negative I usually make him feel is exasperated mostly because I am who I am. But he knows that.

    Host: Vale said that the Well of Souls said “gooey” means a warm feeling and that all you have to do is smile.

    Jessa: Aw, that’s so nice. I bet he was exasperated he had to answer that question.

  7. Great questions so far! Vale and Jessa have really enjoyed answering. They are looking forward to Day 2 🙂

    Thank you, Jean, for allowing Jessa to visit today!

  8. Great game, totally fun’

    Now I asked a question on the other blog, but I’d also like to toss this different question out there 🙂
    What’s the most selfless thing your partner has done?

    • Lilly: He vowed to protect me and my sisters with his very soul. He almost died fulfilling his promise.

      Host: Your husband was asked: “In your relationship who plays the “good cop” and “bad cop.”

      Lilly: Bad copy, definitely my husband. He has a very dark side. Those that have not led honorable lives do not want to meet him in person. He will feed their soul to the beast. I know he would say I was the “good cop.”

  9. Jessa: The most selfish thing Vale ever did was try to leave me.

    Host: Jessa, Vale was asked the following question: In your relationship who plays the “good cop” and “bad cop” roles? What was his answer?

    Jessa: He’s definitely the “bad cop” in front of others. It soothes people to have a Healer close by when Vale has to issue harsh decrees as the king. But that’s only his public persona.

    Host: You’re correct!

  10. Hi Jean!

    Just stopping by to let everyone know what great couple Lilly and Asar are! If you haven’t already, this is a great read, pick it up!

    Dottie 🙂

  11. What’s one thing about your mate that drives you crazy, in a good way? 😉 How about in a bad way?

    • Lilly: I love how protective he is of me and my sisters. I’m so use to being in charge and fending for my sisters that its nice to share the load of responsibility. In a bad way? How protective he is, sometimes overly protective. He’s left me stranded for “my own good” several times.

      Host: Asar was asked the same thing of you. What do you think he said?

      Lilly: Knowing how he thinks, it’s probably sexual. But assuming he refocused on the question, I’m going to say head strong/confident. He’s not use to dealing with Alpha females. He’s always been the one in charge, but I think despite how it drives him nuts, its the very thing that attracted him to me. In a bad way, probably the same thing. I get in over my head and put myself at risk. He doesn’t like that one bit.

      (Thanks JD for stopping by and adding to the fun–Jean)

  12. I want to thank everyone that supported our Newlywed Game. Kinley and I had a great time bringing our characters to life. And your questions were fabulous. And thank you Kinley for letting Jessa and Vale come out and play with Asar and Lilly.

    Without further delay, I want to congratulate Brooklyn Ann, as our winner of the Newlywed Game Fantasy Edition.

Leave a Reply

