Memorial Day Blog Bash ~ 15 authors, 15 prizes, 1 grand prize

Wicked Romance Prize ~ Travel Tote of Goodies-

Author signed copy of SOUL REBORN, travel book, bookmarks, travel mug, picture album, Egyptian Tarot Cards, Egyptian Protection Charm, and more…  See rules below.

Where do you plan to spend your summer?  Traveling? Or staying home?  Well, sometimes the best trip is in your backyard. Come let me share my trip to the Field Museum in ChicagoIt has one of the best Egyptian exhibits.  So I took my book, Soul Reborn, and its characters, Lilly & Asar on a field trip. 

 

Even some of the most smallest cities have museums to visit whether local history or war memorials.  These are great opportunities to introduce our children to our past to include art, space, science and
history.  Dinosaurs are always a big hit with my sons.  The Smithsonian Museums in DC are phenomenal and FREE.  The American History Museum in New York City is one of the pivotal locations in my novel, Soul Reborn.

 I couldn’t go to New York this year, so Lilly and Asar visited the Egyptian exhibit with me in Chicago.  Great place to have a book signing some day!  Hope you enjoy my pictures and Ancient Egyptian Facts:

Egyptian Facts 1:  It took priests up to 53 days to prepare the bodies of the deceased.  It required various salts and packing to dry out the body. The hearts were often left in place.


Egyptian Facts 2: To Ancient Egyptians the soul was made up of 5-parts: Ib (heart), Sheut (shadow), Ren (name), Ka (spirit), Ba (soul).

Egyptian Facts 3:  The heart contained the will, intent and emotion of an individual. It was the key to the afterlife, judged at the gates by the gods.

Egyptian Facts 4:  Heart was weighed against Maat’s feather.  Light as a feather = paradise. Heavier than a feather= snack for the beast. 


To be eligible for
Wicked Romance Travel Tote and the Grand Prize drawing, you must complete the
following:

1.   First, JOIN this blog. (Button at top right, above Soul Reborn book cover).

2.   Complete your Egyptian Quest:  Who is Asar and what is he missing?  HINT: Answer can be found in the back cover blurb under the BOOKSTORE tab. Email your answer HERE. or send email to jean.murray@trfx.com

3.   Check out my author webpage and add it to your favorites.  Okay that’s optional, but I would love to have you visit.

Continue your quest to the next Author Blog ~ Lara Nance is giving away a Ghost Hunting Kit.  The list of participating authors and additional details can be found at Crescent Moon Press.

33 Comments

Filed under Events, PROMO, Soul Reborn

33 responses to “Memorial Day Blog Bash ~ 15 authors, 15 prizes, 1 grand prize

  1. What a great contest! Your book sounds awesome and the prize package is phenomenal. Thanks so much!

    • Hi Theresa,
      My first visitor – how great is that. i can’t wait to announce the winner. I’m now a follower of your blog and sent you a facebook friend request.

      Jean

  2. I absolutley love Egypt. I would LOVE to go there. I am so fascinated by everything about it. I would LOVE to win this book!! IT sounds FABULOUS! Thank you for the chance to win. I sent you an email.

    • Mindy,
      I would too. I’ve come close, but just not close enough. Not a great time right now to visit, but maybe soon. I would love you to win Soul Reborn too. I wish I had a YA book to send to your review site, but alas I do not.
      Jean

  3. Hi, Jean. Just wanted to swing by and say hello!! 🙂

  4. Rylee

    The book sounds like an excellent read! Great giveaway as well!

    • Rylee,
      (love the spelling of your name by the way). I hope you are having fun. Can’t wait to find out who the winner is.
      Jean

      • Rylee

        Thanks! Yep, having lots of fun 🙂 Even if I don’t win anything, my TBR list has grown by a mile so I’m still doing good 🙂

  5. This is very interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    On another note: I don’t have Outlook. How can those of us who don’t have Outlook email the answer to you?

    cmselfridge@gmail.com

    • Calisa,
      So sorry. I overlooked that fact of the email link. Thank you for stopping by. I’m getting to meet new people. I’m now your follower on twitter.
      Jean

  6. Completed everything on the list. 🙂 The books sounds great.

  7. Lita Harris

    This is a fun contest and I learned some things about Egypt that I did not know, just from the little blurbs you have on this post.

  8. Carolsue

    I joined your blog’s mailing list and e-mailed you the answer!
    Thanks

  9. Jean, great post! I’m working on series for Egyptian lore and this was awesome! Very nicely done, m’lady!

  10. Renee Rearden

    Great post, Jean!

  11. Sarah L

    subscribe email: slehandwc at gmail dot com
    emailed answer

  12. Hi Jean! I loved your Egyptian artifact pics. Very cool!

  13. Lara North

    I plan on spending my summer traveling and taking classes. With a bit of babysitting on the side. First stop, Indiana. Second stop, Maine.

    Great contest!!!

  14. Diana

    Great post! Egypt must be very beautiful place and it has a great history. This is an amazing contest!

  15. Hi!
    Great pics, I would so love to visit Egypt some day too!
    Also, this scavenger hunt seems really fun and I already emailed you my answer, but… is the contest International?:D

    Anyway, I added SOUL REBORN to my TBR list, I can’t wait to read it!
    xoxo

  16. Hi Jean!
    I love museums too! I’m lucky enough to have the Smithsonians nearby, and it’s always fun to spend the day walking around them, especially the Egyptian exhibits!

Leave a Reply

