Debut novel jitters… What will they think of me?

Okay, what do you do when high school friends buy your book? Did I mention I went to a Christian High School and my novel is a bit… well hot and graphic? Oh, and these high school friends I’m talking about are MEN. I clearly stated this was a romance novel, but they still purchased it. I’m not complaining of the sale mind you, but I’m just waiting for one to write back stating, “What happened to that shy girl I once knew?”

When I started my writing journey, I had considered choosing a pen name, but when it came time I just couldn’t use a name that wasn’t my own. I know pen names are a personal choice, it just wasn’t my choice. So, I’ll stand up and face any scrutiny. But I’m curious about what other authors and readers think. One word of advice I used… “It’s not me it’s the characters.” Of course my best friend said, “Yeah, right.” I’ve asked authors who write hot or erotic romance how their family and friends reacted to their books. Some have stated their family doesn’t know to my father read my erotic romance cover to cover. I’m not sure I’d give a copy to my mother.

Is there any good way of handling it other than being proud of your work and let the judgment drop where it may. I’m wearing my big girl panties, so I’m up for the fight, but it still doesn’t lessen the lump in my throat. What has been your experience? How did your friends and family react? Did you have any positive or negative comments and how did you handle them? I’d like to know, so please leave a comment.

10 Comments

Filed under PROMO, Soul Reborn

10 responses to “Debut novel jitters… What will they think of me?

  1. Let the judgement drop where it may, Jean, and be proud of your work!

  2. I like to say I’m a Christian with a bent antennae. I get the message. What I spew out is a little different than what people read in the Good Book. But still consistent. Bet yours is too.
    Laugh all the way to the bank!

    • Sharon,
      I love the bent antennae. I need to use that. LOL. It makes for interesting dinner conversation when people ask what I have been up to. At first I get this stunned look, but then they start asking about the book. I wonder if there is a closet full of heterosexual men somewhere reading erotic or dark paranormal romances. I wouldn’t be surprised.

  3. I admit I was rather nervous about how my high school friends would react to my short novel Death Sword. (We found each other on FB.) After all, most of them are conservative and Christian. I’m an atheist. And my book has angels who drink, smoke, curse, fight, kill and even question the existence of God.

    Oh, yeah, I waited for the backlash. And none came. Yet. Two former classmates wrote and told me how much they enjoyed my book. All that worrying for nothing. LOL

    I look at it this way. If people hate my story, oh well. They don’t have to read it. 🙂 (Note: I don’t use a pen name either. )

    • Pamela,
      Most of my friends from high school are linked to me through facebook. It really helped get the word out when my book launched. I’m glad to hear about your story. I feel like a bit of a contradiction myself some days. Thanks for sharing.
      Jean

  4. Marne

    Jean,
    I’m almost to the end of “Soul Reborn,” and I think you should be shouting from the mountain tops, “Damn straight I wrote it!” Because you have a lot to be proud of. It’s a great story. As for the old school mates, their opinions don’t matter…unless they think you’re amazing. Then they can count

    • Marne,
      Wow, thank you. I would love to hear some feedback from you when your finished. It’s always a nervous time waiting for those first reviews to come back. Good or bad, we have to push on.
      Jean

  5. I had the same concerns as Pamela. I decided to put my erotica novella under a pen name, because I was concerned people would read it and say “SHE WROTE THIS?” But I’ve had friend’s moms read it, my husbands co-workers, an ex-boyfriend and even my mother. I did preface it that it contained very explicit scenes and that I would completely understand if they didn’t want to read it. Some chose not to. However, of those that did, after all that worrying, no one has had any problems!

    • Melissa,
      I gave fair warning to those that I thought might be shocked by the content. Most replied back that they were over the age of 18 and had sex before. I guess that is the moral to the story, worry less and enjoy more.
      Jean

Leave a Reply

