Author Open MIC: Welcomes Nancy Weeks – In the Shadow of Pride GIVEAWAY

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome Nancy!

Nancy C Weeks profile picture

Nancy C. Weeks lives in suburban Maryland with her husband of more than thirty years. With her two grown children out of the nest, she loves spending her days on her deck writing as the local bird population keeps her company.

Shadow of Pride

9781440580321

BUY TODAY!

 

Lexie Trevena buried her murdered husband, discovered he had cheated on her, and signed to adopt his newborn son—all before noon. Now she just wants to raise her child in the loving, supportive home she never had. The last thing she needs is another man to complicate her life, but her best friends feel differently. Their matchmaking meddling accidentally places Lexie smack in the path of a terrorist who intends to use her as his pawn.

The only person who can help her is the FBI agent she holds responsible for her husband’s death.

Special-Agent-In-Charge Luke “Mac” McNeil watched his best friend and partner marry a woman he knew was too good for him, but he did nothing to stop the wedding. He stood by as Lexie adopted the cheating jerk’s son. But when someone goes to great lengths to make it appear that Lexie is responsible for launching a drone into the home of a prominent Texas senator, Mac’s conscience finally speaks up, and he fights for Lexie’s freedom … even though all the evidence leads to her door, and she has never given him a reason to trust her.

Can Lexie and Mac find the courage to forgive and trust, or will their pride stand in the way of love, allowing terrorists to bring another devastating attack onto United States soil?

INTERVIEW

Tell us about your latest book? Any secrets or snippets you can share?

I’m so pleased to be visiting with you today to share the news about my latest novel, In the Shadow of Pride. Pride is the fourth book in my In the Shadows series. In this story, you will meet the third McNeil brother, Luke ‘Mac’ McNeil.

Mac has a tough job as a FBI Special-Agent-In-Charge. He sees the worst that mankind has to offer on a daily basis. One of the most heart wrenching experiences he had to live through was losing his friend and fellow agent, Rico Trevena. Here’s a little snippet that won’t give too much away about the story: Rico was on an undercover operation and Mac was his handler. The unthinkable happened and Rico lost his life while saving Mac’s younger brother, Jason [you meet Jason in In the Shadow of Greed]. Rico’s last words to Mac: “Promise me you’ll take care of Lexie. Don’t allow to be alone!”

For the last three years, Mac has tried to keep that promise to Lexie, but she has made it almost impossible. She has come to hate everything about the FBI and despises Mac because she blames him for Rico’s death. Lexie is thrown into a huge mess that she didn’t create and the only person who can save her is the one man she hates beyond reason.

I have to say that throwing my gorgeous Mac McNeil and spunky, Lexie Trevena into life altering situations, making them work through their animosity toward each other, and then watching them fall in love on the page is what makes being a romantic suspense author such a joy.

What inspired you to write it?

I guess In the Shadow of Pride was inspired by the first book I finished in the series, In the Shadow of Evil. Both In the Shadow of Evil and In the Shadow of Greed [my debut novel] begin on the same day with the same incident. One brother [Jared] goes to the crime scene and the second brother [Jason] goes to the hospital to interview the victim. Each brother’s life changes forever.

So where does Pride fit in? Well, all five books are connected in one way or another. Jared nor Jason could not have found their happy-ever-after without Mac’s help. In Pride, Mac finds himself in a mess and he knows that his brothers have his back like no one else. My inspiration for Pride, and the entire series, revolves around the love and support of family. The McNeil families aren’t perfect, they argue, even fight, but underneath it all, they love each other.

What is your biggest challenge as an Author?

The part I struggle with even after four books is the promotion writers need to do today to get their books noticed. With hundreds of free and 99 cents books available all the time, it is so hard to be heard through all that noise. Promoting a book is like raising children. Just because it worked for the first book, doesn’t mean it will work for the second, fifth, tenth. There are no clear answers because the game is constantly changing.

What are you cooking up next? Will we see more of the McNeil brothers? What can readers expect?

I’m so excited about the last book in the series, In the Shadow of Vengeance. I’m going to bring my entire McNeil family together in one place. This will be the Noah’s story, the die-hard bachelor. He’s going to need all of his brothers to deal with what I have in store for him and the woman who he will find is his happy-ever-after, Elizabeth Merlot. What can readers expect? There are some villains that—no matter how hard you have tried to put away—just don’t stay away. The title of the book says it all.

Where can readers find you and your books?

Find Nancy at:

Website: http://nancycweeks.com

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/NancyCWeeksAuthor,

Twitter: @NancyCWeeks

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7009278.Nancy_C_Weeks

Pinterest:http://www.pinterest.com/nancycweeks/

Look for In the Shadow of Pride at: Crimson Romance ebooks | Amazon B&N | iTunes | Kobo | Google Play | BAM

Open MIC FAV five

  • Favorite hero or heroine:  My favorite hero and heroine changes all the time. Right now, since I recently finished this series, is Emma Paulsen, a brilliant geneticist and the King of the Realm and hunky vampire, Dage Kayrs, in Claimed (Dark Protectors Book 2) by Rebecca Zanetti.
  • Favorite author:  This is just too hard because I have a long list of favorite authors. I can’t pick just one.
  • Favorite music to write by:  For In the Shadow of Pride, I loved listening to Dreamcatcher by Secret Garden, especially Songs from a Secret Garden [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-sWnEWpS_fA]. This CD really stirs my emotions and brings out the best in my characters.
  • Favorite inspiration:  I keep this quote on the front page of my website for me!  Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up. Thomas Edison
  • Most memorable moment:  All time most memorable moments in my life were the days I gave birth to my son and daughter. I gained the greatest explanation of what true/unconditional love is the instant my children were placed in my arms.
  • Relationship advice:  Love exists and everyone deserves to be loved. Never settle! Find that one person that makes you want to be a better person and hold on tight. Love is messy, complicated and hard work, but it’s worth it. I know because I found that one person that makes me want to be the best person I can be.

Excerpt ~ In the Shadow of Pride

Lexie leaned her back against the cool stone and made herself release Mac’s hand. She then took a breath of fresh, clean air and tried to hide the shakiness in her voice. “Now what?”

“I’m going to drop down to the roof. You will kneel on the ledge and, using the window to balance, turn so your legs hang over the edge. Let go of the ledge, and I’ll catch you.”

“Are you crazy? I can’t—”

“Lexie, look behind you.”

She turned her head slowly toward the open window. Flames appeared under the door and the small office was completely filled with smoke. One word escaped her lips. “Trapped.”

“Once we get down onto the roof, there’s a fire escape ladder to the street.” He reached for her hand. “Gabriel needs you. We can do this together.”

Finding her voice, she whispered, “Not fair using Gabriel.” She bit down on her lower lip and dredged up an ounce of courage. “Mac, do what you have to do.”

With the grace of a trained athlete, he lowered himself over the side until only the tips of his fingers were on the ledge. An instant later, he dropped, landing on his feet.

“Tag, you’re it, Lexie. Just drop and I’ll catch you. Trust me.”

Lexie’s heart pounded like she had just run the 100-yard dash. After a quick glance into the office, she knelt, and holding onto the window, rolled onto her stomach.

“That’s it. Now just ease your legs over the ledge.”

The instant her feet hit empty space, panic ripped through her and she swung a leg back onto the ledge as her fingers dug into the window frame. God, she couldn’t do this. It was freaking crazy.

“You have to let go of the window frame. I’m right under you.”

“This isn’t the time to be nice to me, Mac.”

“Okay, then how’s this? I’m loving the view of the sexiest red panties I have ever seen that barely cover an ass that will live in my dreams for years to―”

Lexie dropped. Before she could get out the ear-piercing, girly scream that roared in her head, she landed in Mac’s arms. The impact crushed the air from her lungs.

“You’re okay,” he whispered. “I’ve got you.”

Wrapping her arms around his neck, she allowed his strength and his herbal all-male scent to soothe her. He eased her legs back on solid ground, but she didn’t let go. She couldn’t remember a time in her life when she felt so safe, protected.

She raised her chin and met his amused stare. Of all stupid days to wear a skirt to work. As soon as she got out of this mess, it was going to Goodwill.

Heat spread up her neck and her chest tightened. “This one time, I’m going to let that go.”

“Let what go, Lexie?” Mac’s hand moved slowly down her back to her waist and pressed her tightly against him.

His touch sent a flash of need that had been dormant for too long into her gut. Lexie swallowed but couldn’t look him in the face. “That wasn’t my best moment on that ledge. You shouldn’t have looked.”

“You told me not to be nice. I was saving your life.”

I WOULD LOVE TO HOLD A GIVEAWAY!

Giveaway

Have questions? I would love to answer them. Feel free to ask me anything and you will become eligible for a drawing for a free digital copy of any book In the Shadow series. Reader’s choice. By the way, my In the Shadow series can be read out of order. I hope you will enjoy both the blurb and excerpt. It was great fun visiting with you.

 ((Hugs to all))

Nancy C. Weeks

3 Comments

Filed under Author Open Mic, Cover Reveal, Events, Giveaway

3 responses to “Author Open MIC: Welcomes Nancy Weeks – In the Shadow of Pride GIVEAWAY

  1. A great post thank you. When you are writing series, do you write one book at a time or the series as a whole?

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    • Good morning Mary!
      Thank so much for dropping by. I began my series by writing In the Shadow of Evil. The series developed from that book. When I finished Evil, there was this empty feeling in me. Strange but true. I immediately began In the Shadow of Greed, Jason’s story. That was the first book I sold. The other three brothers began haunting me–they wanted the same happy-ever-after I gave Jared and Jason. LOL! Yup, these guys are so very real to me. I’m now working on the last book, In the Shadow of Vengeance which will be released in December 2014—and I don’t have a clue how I’m going to let them go.

  2. Laura

    Hi, Nancy,
    Great post! And it looks like another great book. How did you learn about working for the FBI, to create authenticity?
    Can’t wait for your next!!

Leave a Reply

